Die ursprüngliche Storage-Architektur von kann die Skalierung von SharePoint kompliziert und teuer machen

Die Storage-Architektur speichert strukturierte und unstrukturierte Daten (Files) in SQL-Server-Datenbanken. Die Skalierung des SQL-Servers ist oft teuer, weil dafür signifikante Investitionen in zusätzliche Hardware inkl. High-Performance Storage Devices notwendig sind. Aber auch dann existieren noch Einschränkungen für SharePoint-Inhaltsdatenbanken. Unstrukturierte Daten machen zwischen 90 und 95 Prozent des Storage in einer klassischen SharePoint-Umgebung aus. Mit Metalogix StoragePoint können Sie die Daten in Echtzeit auf externe, preisgünstigere Speicher ohne Beeinträchtigung der Leistung, der Usability und der ursprünglichen Funktionalität von SharePoint übertragen.

Testversion

Die Verwaltung großer Datenmengen in SharePoint ist komplex und beeinträchtigt die Leistung

Die meisten SharePoint-Umgebungen wachsen rasend schnell aufgrund von Nutzeranpassung und Inhaltskonsolidierung. Die Wachstumsverwaltung von SharePoint kann eine Herausforderung sein, weil durch die Einschränkungen der SQL-Server-Datenbanken Hochgeschwindigkeitsspeicher oder Datensegmentierung erforderlich ist, um den wachsenden Anforderungen von SharePoint gerecht zu werden. Die kontinuierliche Notwendigkeit von mehr Ressourcen oder der Segmentierung von Daten ist komplex und verlangt zudem eine regelmäßige Wartung. Metalogix StoragePoint ermöglicht das externe Speichern von BLOBS auf eine Vielzahl von externen Speichermedien und die Erstellung einer einfachen Storage-Architektur, die keine High Performance Storage Devices benötigt.

Testversion

Dateiverschlüsselung und Support für revisionssicheren Storage ist out-of-the-box nicht verfügbar

Zahlreiche Unternehmen nutzen SharePoint für die Verwaltung sensibler Daten. Leider können diese mit der ursprünglichen SharePoint-Storage-Architektur nicht durch Verschlüsselung oder entsprechende Speicherregeln gesichert werden. Metalogix StoragePoint unterstützt die Verschlüsselung externalisierter Dokumente, während diese auf entsprechenden Speichern oder WORM-Geräten (Write Once, Read Many = einmal schreiben, oft lesen), wie z. B. EMC Centera, EMC Elastic Cloud Storage, Dell DX Series und Hitachi HCP gespeichert werden. Metalogix StoragePoint unterstützt auch die Umsetzung von Zugriffsregelungen und die deren Synchronisierung zwischen Richtlinien für das SharePoint-Informationsmanagement und den konformen Storage Devices.

Testversion

Aufräumen nach Katastrophen und Sicherung für großen Farmen

Große SharePoint-Farmen haben Einiges zu tun, wenn Sie sich mit Szenarien bzgl. Backup und der Absicherung vor Katastrophen beschäftigen. Das liegt teilweise an den eingeschränkten Möglichkeiten zur Absicherung von sehr großen SQL-Server-Datenbanken, die auf großen Farmen ohne Remote BLOB Storage-Lösungen (RBS) erstellt worden sind. 90-95 Prozent eines üblichen SharePoint-Storage besteht aus Dateien, daher bietet die BLOB-Auslagerung eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, die Backup-Strategie der SharePoint-Farmen zu ändern. Nach dem Auslagern der BLOBs können diese auf verschiedene Arten gesichert oder repliziert werden, und zwar wesentlich effizienter als ein Backup von SQL Server-Datenbanken.

Testversion

View Product Tech Specs
Tech Specs
Supported Systems
SharePoint Server 2013 & 2016 and SharePoint Foundation 2013
  • Operating System: Windows 2008 R2 Server or Windows 2012 Server
  • SharePoint Server: SharePoint 2016 or SharePoint Foundation 2013
  • Other Server Software: SQL Server 2008 R2 SP1 Enterprise Edition or SQL Server 2012 and 2014 Enterprise Edition

SharePoint Foundation 2010 and SharePoint Server 2010

  • Operating System: Windows 2008 Server, Windows 2008 R2 Server or Windows 2012 Server
  • SharePoint Server: SharePoint Foundation Server 2010, Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010
  • Other Server Software: SQL Server 2005 64-bit, 2008, 2008 R2 or 2012. Use of RBS requires SQL Server 2008, 2008 R2 or 2012 Enterprise Editions
WSS 3.0 and MOSS 2007
  • Operating System: Windows 2003 or 2008 Server, 64-bit
  • SharePoint Server: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (WSS), Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (MOSS), Standard or Enterprise (Service Pack 1 or higher, 64-bit editions
 
Supported Adapters
StoragePoint Adapters are add-on plug-ins that allow StoragePoint to externalize SharePoint content BLOBs to specific on-premise and cloud-based storage platforms.

The native SharePoint Storage Architecture Can Make Scaling SharePoint Complicated and Expensive

The native SharePoint storage architecture stores structured and unstructured (files) data in SQL Server databases. Scaling SQL Server is often expensive requiring significant investments in additional hardware including high performance storage devices. Even then, limitations on SharePoint Content Databases still exist. Unstructured data or files make up between 90-95% of the storage in a typical SharePoint environment. Metalogix StoragePoint gives you the ability to externalize files in real-time to less expensive storage devices without impacting performance, the user experience or native SharePoint functionality.

Get The Free Trial

Managing Large Volumes of Content in SharePoint Is Complex and Negatively Impacts Performance

Most SharePoint environments experience explosive growth as a result of user adoption and content consolidation. Managing the growth of SharePoint can be challenging as SQL Server database limitations require high speed storage or segmentation of data to support the growing demands of SharePoint. The constant need for resources or segmentation of data is complex and requires regular maintenance. Metalogix StoragePoint allows for the externalization of BLOBs (unstructured data or files) to a variety of external storage devices create a simplified storage architecture that does not require high performance storage devices.

Get The Free Trial

File Encryption and Support for Compliant Storage is Unavailable Out-of-the-box

Many organizations leverage SharePoint for the management of sensitive or compliant documents. Unfortunately securing these documents through encryption or supporting compliant storage requirements is not possible with the native SharePoint storage architecture. Metalogix StoragePoint provides support for encrypting externalized documents, at-rest, while supporting the storage of documents on compliant storage or WORM (Write Once, Read Many) devices such as EMC Centera, EMC Elastic Cloud Storage, Dell DX Series and Hitachi HCP. Metalogix StoragePoint also supports the enforcement of records retention rules and synchronization of these rules between SharePoint Information Management Policies and compliant storage devices.

Get The Free Trial

Disaster Recover and Backup for Large Farms

There is little doubt that large farms pose a serious challenge when dealing with backup and disaster recovery scenarios. This is, in part, due to the limited options when backing up very large SQL Server databases created by large farms not using Remote BLOB Storage (RBS) solutions. Since 90-95% of the typical SharePoint storage is comprised of files, BLOB externalization creates a unique opportunity for changing the backup strategy of your SharePoint farms. Once BLOBs are externalized they can be replicated or backed up using a variety of options that are far more efficient than backing up SQL Server databases.

Get The Free Trial

View Product Tech Specs
Tech Specs
Supported Systems
SharePoint Server 2013 & 2016 and SharePoint Foundation 2013
  • Operating System: Windows 2008 R2 Server or Windows 2012 Server
  • SharePoint Server: SharePoint 2016 or SharePoint Foundation 2013
  • Other Server Software: SQL Server 2008 R2 SP1 Enterprise Edition or SQL Server 2012 and 2014 Enterprise Edition

SharePoint Foundation 2010 and SharePoint Server 2010

  • Operating System: Windows 2008 Server, Windows 2008 R2 Server or Windows 2012 Server
  • SharePoint Server: SharePoint Foundation Server 2010, Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010
  • Other Server Software: SQL Server 2005 64-bit, 2008, 2008 R2 or 2012. Use of RBS requires SQL Server 2008, 2008 R2 or 2012 Enterprise Editions
WSS 3.0 and MOSS 2007
  • Operating System: Windows 2003 or 2008 Server, 64-bit
  • SharePoint Server: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (WSS), Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (MOSS), Standard or Enterprise (Service Pack 1 or higher, 64-bit editions
 
Supported Adapters
StoragePoint Adapters are add-on plug-ins that allow StoragePoint to externalize SharePoint content BLOBs to specific on-premise and cloud-based storage platforms.
 

Featured Resource

Additional Resources

eBook
SharePoint’s popularity has resulted in an...
eBook
SharePoint content growth is placing tremendous...
eBook
Paul LaPorte, Director of Product Management at...