logo banner

Metalogix Content Matrix Console - SharePoint Edition has the ability to migrate SharePoint permissions. Permission migration is broken down into two pieces: permission levels, and user/group permissions. This section will review how to migrate permissions for users/groups. For more information on migrating permission levels, please see the Permissions Level Migration page. SharePoint Edition has the ability to migrate site, list and item level permissions from one SharePoint instance to another.

There are two methods of migrating permissions. The first method is to copy permissions as a part of a migration action by selecting them in the copy options dialog, and the second method is to copy them to a target node using the context (right-click) menu as a separate action.

When talking about permissions in SharePoint it is important to keep in mind that there are three different aspects of permissions to be considered when doing a migration. They are as follows:

Content Matrix Console - SharePoint Edition is able to migrate all three types of permissions: Roles, Securable Objects, and Principals.

When permissions are migrated, an algorithm is used to find the best matching permission level (role) on the target, as compared to the source. For example, if a permissions level exists on a source SharePoint environment, and permissions are migrated to the target, the SharePoint Edition will look on the target for the closest matching role. Whatever the closest permission level is (by included permissions) will be the permission level that is used on the target. In the case that permission levels (roles) are also migrated, these migrated permission levels will be used, because these created roles will have the closest matching permissions when compared to the existing permissions on the target. If permission levels are not copied, the closest matching permission level will be used instead.

Note: Whenever Content Matrix Console - SharePoint Edition copies content, it will migrate the user groups that are associated with the migrating content, provided they have not already been copied to the target server.

Below are some points of interest for copying permissions.

Permission Copying Options Breakdown

This section will break down and talk about the basic permission copying options, as found in the Configure Site Copying Options dialog, or in the Migrating Permissions as a Part of a Copy Action section above.

If a site level copy is being performed, and the Copy Child Sites recursively option is enabled (in the Site Options section), all the sites, lists, folders, and items under the selected source node will be migrated. In this case, any enabled options for permissions copying will be copied recursively down through the migration. Each site will have its own site level permissions copied, each list will have its own list level permissions copied, and so on.

For example, let's say on the source side we have a site with some lists, and this site also has a sub-site with some lists, and both of the sites and all of the lists each have their own permissions set up. What would happen if we copy them?

If the Copy Child Sites Recursively, Copy Site Permissions, and Copy List Permissions options are enabled, each site and list would be migrated but would retain their own permissions settings.

If only the Copy Site Permissions option is enabled, then only the site permissions would be copied, and the lists would not have any permissions copied.

If only the Copy List Permissions option is enabled, then only the lists on the top site and sub-site would be copied over, and the site permissions would not be copied.

If the Copy Child Sites recursively option is not enabled, then only the permissions for the sites and lists of the top level site would be copied (since only the top level site would be migrated).

The following is an overview of the available options in the Permissions Options tab:

Migrating Permissions as a Part of a Copy Action

When performing a copy action (for a site, list, folder, or item), there is a section in the copy options dialog that is dedicated to options for migrating permissions.

  1. In the Explorer View tab navigate to the content that you want to copy.

  2. Select the desired node, right-click, and choose Copy [Object].

  3. Next, navigate to the desired target location, under a SharePoint site or server connection. Select the top level target node (the node that the copied content should fall under) for the migration. Now right-click and select Paste [Object].

  4. The copy options dialog should now open. Select the Permissions Options tab of the copy options dialog. Place a check in any of the desired permission copying option. A breakdown of these options is available above this section, on this page.

  5. Set any other desired options for the migration. Click Run when you are ready to continue with the migration.

    Alternately, the Save button can be chosen instead, and users can save the copy settings to a job file in the SharePoint Edition's Job List section. From here the job can be run at any time, and the action will be performed.

  6. When the migration starts a status dialog box will be displayed. The migration logs can be viewed (in progress or after the migration is finished) by clicking the Details>> button. The Status section of the status box will list a live count for the number of successes, warnings, failures, etc. for the migration (both during and after migration). The Progress section of this dialog will list any completions and the type of completion (Sites, lists, items, users, groups, etc.). A Migration Completed message will be give when finished, and the Close button can be clicked to exist the status dialog.

Migrating Permissions using the Context (Right-Click) Menu

Content Matrix Console - SharePoint Edition can also copy permissions using the context (right-click) menu. Migrating permissions using this method is different from migrating them through the copy options dialog (the above method) because of one main difference. This main difference is that copying and pasting permissions with this method will only paste permissions at the selected target node level.

For example, if I want to copy the site level permissions for my source site, and paste them to my target site, while at the same time NOT copying any of the list, folder, or item level permissions for that site, then this is a method I could use.

For another example, if I want to paste permissions for a specific list or item, I can select the target node for that list/item and paste the permissions. Then only the list/item permissions for the selected target node would have the permissions pasted to it, and no other permissions under the selected node would be migrated. This method for pasting permissions would NOT be used if you wanted to paste permissions recursively in a selected node.

The other basic permissions copying options are still available. A breakdown of these options is available further down on this page.

  1. In the Explorer View tab navigate to the content that you want to copy.

  2. Select the desired node, right-click, and choose Copy [Object].

  3. Next, navigate to the desired target location, under a SharePoint site or server connection. Select the top level target node (the node that the copied content should fall under) for the migration. Now right-click and select the Paste Site Objects > Permissions option.

  4. This will open the Configure Permissions Copying Options dialog. Select and set any desired copy options.

  5. Once all the desired options have been set, click Run to continue with the migration.

    Alternately, the Save button can be chosen instead, and users can save the copy settings to a job file in the SharePoint Edition's Job List section. From here the job can be run at any time, and the action will be performed.

  6. When the migration starts a status dialog box will be displayed. The migration logs can be viewed (in progress or after the migration is finished) by clicking the Details>> button. The Status section of the status box will list a live count for the number of successes, warnings, failures, etc. for the migration (both during and after migration). The Progress section of this dialog will list any completions and the type of completion (Sites, lists, items, users, groups, etc.). A Migration Completed message will be give when finished, and the Close button can be clicked to exist the status dialog.

    The permissions for the selected source node will now be copied for the selected target node.

    Note: If a site node was selected, only site level permissions will be migrated. If a list is selected, only permissions for that list will be migrated, and so on for folders and items. This type of permissions copy only migrates permissions at the selected level, and does not recursively copy permissions.